Birthday Dress – Burdastyle 5/2013 #123

For my 30th birthday, on the 12th September, I went out to dinner with my closest family. It was very special to me because my parents are divorced and I never get to see my whole family together. Also I wanted to make my grandpa happy and he really likes to see me in light colors.

DSC03109-

DSC03094-

So I went crazy (lol) and chose this light greyish green satin, which I never wore or even thought of touching before.

For my pattern I selected Burdastyle 5/2013 #123 Maxi Dress with contrasting straps and band (in black, of course! I need my black…)

DSC03093-

Here are the top pattern pieces, all 24 of them. The black pieces in the middle are the interfaced ones.

Changes to the pattern: although this is a very flowy pattern from the bust down, I flaired the side seams of the skirt a little bit to make sure it would accomodate my hips.

DSC03096-

I don’t do ruching very often (if ever at all…) and I can’t really say what possessed me to try this on a tight dead line… Here’s were I stood after ruching the top pieces and basting them to the foundation pieces. The bottom pieces are the lining and the middle long black pieces are the straps.

The most difficult thing about this dress was to insert the invisible zipper. I definitely hate dealing with ruching. But I was extremely happy with the end result!

DSC03127-

This is me wearing it. I felt like a princess so I bought a tiara to go with it. 🙂

I

4 Comments

Filed under Sewing

4 responses to “Birthday Dress – Burdastyle 5/2013 #123

  1. Ali

    The dress is fab! Great job!
    Have you heard of craftsy? – http://www.craftsy.com
    They do online classes, most are to pay for but I registered and watched a free one about zippers, including invisible. It’s really good and worth a look.
    Happy Birthday 🎁🎉🎈🎉🎁

    • Thank you so much for the compliment and the tip!
      I definitely should look up some info on how to deal with ruching+zippers before I attempt something like this again. 🙂

  2. Nicely done. I mean to make the petite version of this soon so it’s good to have a reference to check back on.

Leave a Reply

