Petticoat for a Wedding – part 3

DSC04271-

DSC03085-

For the back seam, I sewn it with another binding strip and finished it with the technique I used to attach the 3 pieces from the 2nd tier of tulle, by binding and then top stitching it flat.

DSC03087-

This is the finished back seam.

DSC03088-

One more step left: inserting the elastic at the waist. I just folded and pressed the top of the lining’s seam allowance.

DSC03089-

And folded and pressed again to make a nice casing.

DSC03091-

Some people like to sew the casing first and then insert the elastic. I like to put the elastic inside the casing first, and sew it in closely using a zipper foot, to keep it from twisting.

DSC04124-

Here’s the finished petticoat worn under the dress it was made for.

DSC04109-

Here it is under another dress.

I’m quite happy with it, as experimental as it is. It’s not very voluminous so I can wear it to work. I have worn it several times since I made it and I find it quite comfortable, so it fits its purpose. I’ll probably make another version to wear with shorter skirts, and next time I’ll use nicer materials.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

