Last Minute Bolero

On my last trip to the fabric store, I came across this great remnant of pearly white faux fur that I absolutely loved. It was the last piece of this fabric they had, and it was about 50cm long (a little over half a yard). So the only garment I could think about making was a bolero jacket.

The pattern I used was BurdaStyle Bolero 09/2012 #120. I really like the shape of it and thought it would look great in the faux fur. I also required a simple pattern that I could execute quicky, because I wanted to wear this to a dinner with my friends.

DSC03590-

Here’s the fabric, isn’t it lovely?

DSC03592-

The small amount of fabric I had was just enough to cut the pattern pieces.ย The only change I made to the pattern was to omit the sleeve darts, I felt they were unnecessary in this material. Also, I switched the jersey lining to regular polyester lining.

DSC03653-

Here’s the faux fur pieces sewn together.

DSC03958-

When I got to cutting the lining, I realized I didn’t buy enough *facepalm*

I was in a rush and totally forgot that the lining bolt is not as wide as the fur. So my solution was to use another piece of lining I had (light pink), to make a couple of patches and ย placed them on the sleeve backs. I chose this placement because I thought this would be the less noticeable spot.

DSC03960-

This is how the patches looked like after the lining’s sleeve pieces were sewn together. Not too bad.

DSC04265-

Here’s the finished bolero on my brand new dummy my partner got me for my birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC04266-

A closer look at the texture of the fabric. I’m totally in love!

DSC04321-

I think it came out really nice for a rushed project. The irony was, on the night I was supposed to wear it, the weather was too warm and I ended up just carrying it on my arm all night… ๐Ÿ˜›

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Last Minute Bolero

  1. Ali

    That’s gorgeous! It’s amazing what can be made with so little fabric. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

