Two versions of the Turtleneck Dress, BurdaStyle 8-2011 #119

119 08-2012

The Turtleneck Dress #119 from BurdaStyle 08/2011, is one of my favorite patterns ever. It’s so flattering! I made these out of completely different fabrics but I’m unable to choose which one I like the best. The only change I made to the pattern was widen the skirt pannels.

DSC04115--

For the first dress, I used a grey, somewhat stiff polyester fabric, that kinda poufs out.

DSC04328-

This one is made from a heavy lace that resembles bouclé, lined with black sateen. I trimmed the cap sleeves and the neckline with satin bias binding tape. These fabrics are flowy so the front part looks substancially different from the grey one and extremely different from the pattern’s picture (I get that a lot, by the way, because I tend to ignore the fabric recommendations… it’s part of my experimental process).

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Two versions of the Turtleneck Dress, BurdaStyle 8-2011 #119

  1. roma1912

    I have looked & looked and still can’t decide which one I like the best, the fabric really does make a difference to the finished article , they both look stunning!!!!!

Leave a Reply

