Lacy Shruggy

DSC04843

I made this because I wanted to practice a lace stitch, which I’d never done before. Very simple pattern, from Free Vintage Knitting –  it’s just a rectangle that you sew together along the sides to make the sleeves.

DSC04845

The pattern was originally published in 1953, on the pamphlet Fashions in Wool #76, Stoles and Accessories by Hilde Fuchs.

DSC04855

I’m satisfied with the result, although the fit isn’t the best in my opinion.

DSC04857

I used fingering yarn, US 1½ – 2.5 mm needles for the cuffs and US 4 – 3.5 mm needles for the rest of the piece.

DSC04858

 

Here’s a back view where you can see the bagginess under the arms. I guess I couldn’t expect much more from a knit rectangle with no shaping to it. 😛

DSC04397-

 

This is the finished piece before seaming, and a couple detail shots of the lace.

 

DSC04397-detail

DSC04859

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

